Finding your Passion

unnamedFor the longest time I wondered what my passion or calling in life was. My quest for my true calling began in my early twenties. It seemed everyone around me had found their so-called niche in life. They knew what they wanted and where they were heading.

I was confused and unsure. Not a happy place to be in. As I stressed about what I should be doing with my life, fear crept in along with its cousin doubt.

I wondered if my life would ever get on track and if I ever would find my true place.

I listlessly moved from job to job while I studied towards a degree in Communications and English.

In my mid-twenties I read a self-help book, the title of which I unfortunately cannot remember but there was one thing in that book that stood out for me. The author advised that in order to find one’s passion or calling in life – a person should think back to their childhood and the activities they enjoyed.

I felt as though I’d been hit by a bolt of lightning.

Suddenly there was pure clarity.

I had to pursue a career in radio and I had to become a writer.

Reflecting on my childhood, I loved nothing more than reading and writing and pretending to be a radio DJ. I grew up listening to Lotus FM and fantasized about one day being part of the Lotus team.

This December marks my twelfth year at Lotus FM and it’s been an exhilarating journey.

When I am not thinking radio – I enjoy writing fiction.

To date I’ve published eleven short stories in YOU magazine. I have a new story coming out in December.

And I am so thrilled to be part of the Second Chances – Love Anthology.

I’ve written a 20 000 word story titled Giovanni’s Christmas Bride.

Second Chances is due to be released on 30th November 2016 on Amazon Kindle.

I feel lucky to be able to follow my passions in life. There are other passions as well, which I would love to explore. Now it’s about creating more time – so that I can keep doing the things I love.

And this I believe is one of the great secrets to living a happy and fulfilled life.

So find your passion. Discover what makes your heart sing with joy.

What is your greatest passion in life? Are you following it?

I would love to hear from you. Please drop a comment below…

Until next time – “Live your passion.”

unnamedef

One thought on “Finding your Passion

Leave a Reply

